The Mod Squad: My Retro Styling Extravaganza

I have about 10 million adorable ootds that I haven’t shared- because I’ve been so incredibly wonderfully busy these past few weeks with oh so many different projects. I’m sure I’ll have to do some sort of shameless bathroom selfie post to catch up on it all- but today I’m most excited to share with you the behind the scenes shots from my recent photoshoot colab with the “talented-as-he-is-a-wonderful-human” Josh Ulmer. Josh and I have a million friends in common and have been in touch for quite some time about doing a vintage inspired shoot together- but this was the first time we had actually met in person.  He put a lot of work into finding a really incredible location and I was so thrilled to be able to bring my styling concepts and designs to life in front of his camera.

I met the beautiful Mallory Thompson on the set of the music video Real Men Love Jesus by Michael Ray. I was the wardrobe stylist on this project (I’ll be doing a whole other post on my thrifted styling for that later) and had the pleasure of styling Mallory through the sixties, seventies and eighties. She really shined in the in our romp through the late sixties- so it was a no brainer when Josh asked who we should use as a model.
I was over the moon when he sent me the location- and Airbnb spot in East Nashville- described as a Bohemian Wonderland. I was able to curate vintage pieces to match the spot as well as create a few new designs for my Spring and Summer Monarch Couture line to match this magical spot. I also pulled in my dear friend and Monarch Girl, Shayla to take advantage of some duo shots in this magical location.

If you are ever through Nashville- staying in this spot will be the treat of your life. The house is just decor goals for days- perfectly curated by the owners of local brand Hey Wanderer (a perfect line filled with rad T’s, comfy bells and  soft kimonos designed to take you from your night, straight into bed and then back out to brunch the next morning without a  need change.)

I cannot wait to share Josh’s beautiful shots- but to wet everyone’s whistle- here is what I was able to capture behind the scenes.

Every item is from Goodwill- even my designs are upcycled from curtains, sheets and scarves picked up at my local Goodwill store. The whole thing is just a thrifted vintage dreamy dream. And you can buy the designs in my etsy shop.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset
Such a treat to see Josh create effects using natural lighting bounced off reflective objects.
Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
I thought Mallory looked like a Sixties Country Queen having a quiet meltdown in this perfect vintage dress.
Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset
My Molly Crop Top paired with a perfect pink vintage pencil skirt- and that wall… I’m dead.
Processed with VSCOcam with a8 preset
Lady Legends, Paper Magnolias and Decor Goals for life.
Processed with VSCOcam with a8 preset
The worlds most perfectly curated wall…

Processed with VSCOcam with a8 preset

FullSizeRender 10

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a10 preset

IMG_5113
Perfect Puppy pic by Chris Daniels

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with acg preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a8 preset
My Georgia Garden Tea Party Dress created from thrifted vintage sheets.
Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
All of the decorating Goals…

Processed with VSCOcam with a10 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with acg preset
Victorian Rifle Dress  created from vintage scarves with this perfect vintage hat
Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset
Nineteen Sixty Lace re-invented vintage lace curtain crop top with retro pencil pants

Hope you enjoyed this shoot as much as I did!  I’m looking forward to sharing some simple DIY designs with you all coming soon but in the meantime I have Goodwill coming too my house on Wednesday for an interview (OMG!)  So I’ll be busy preparing for my Guests!

Love and Thrift,

Elisabeth

 


Leave a comment